“A Little F’d Up” by Julie Zeilinger

I’m a feminist. I wear it loud, I wear it proud. During a time in my life when a lot seems up in the air – my future, where “home” is, etc. (oh, to be 20-somethingA Little F'd Up: Why Feminism is Not a Dirty Word) – one thing I am certain of is that I identify as a feminist.

While I pontificate in self-indulgence, author and feminist Julie Zeilinger has her shit a bit more together. The girl’s only 20 years old, and last year she published A Little F’d Up: Why Feminism is Not a Dirty Word, which I picked  up on a whim last week. It was a super baseline introduction to feminism, but I really think it needs to be in the hands of every single high schooler in this country. It offered a topline history of feminism, a perspective on the progress and faults of third wave feminism, and what our generation can do to keep the momentum of “sisterhood” moving in a relevant and effective way.

It also prompted me to check out the site Zeilinger started, thefbomb. Holy hell, I wish there had been a site like this when I was in high school. I think a lot of young women have tons of misplaced frustrated that, if educated properly on feminsim, they could centered on educating themselves and protecting themselves against their (sometimes) otherwise misogynistic peers and environment.

Last March when I vacationed with my mom, I went off on a rant about how I think every 21st century woman needs to reclaim feminism. Zeilinger has a lot of interesting perspectives on this, but she does a great job of not casting judgment on any particular “breed” of feminism. She doesn’t cross any territory too controversial or revolutionary; while that makes this read a bit bland for anyone who knows their salt about feminism and its current role in our society, I still think it serves as a great stepping stone into the feminism for anyone who’s always heard the word (or read the Tumblr posts, hah), but has never been quite sure what the movement is all about.

If you believe in the feminist movement in any shape or form and have a young woman in your life between the ages of 14-25, do her and society a favor and give her this book.

Leave a Reply

